General Education Taskforce

Based on recommendations and nominations from the Faculty Senate and College Deans, the following faculty have been selected to lead a campus-wide review of The University of Alabama’s general education experiences and to develop a comprehensive plan for general education that connects the learning goals of the major, the work of Student Life, and a curriculum that further supports the development of curious learners, critical and creative thinkers, and informed and engaged citizens.

In addition to various research interests, participation in organizations and committees related to undergraduate education, and experience with curriculum development, members of the General Education Taskforce have been recognized as outstanding teachers in their field.

Chapman Greer is a clinical instructor of Management and the 2018-2021 Faculty Senate Vice President. Dr. Greer received her MLIS in Library Information Sciences and her PhD in English from The University of Alabama. Her current research focuses on application-based educational practices in project management, data visualization, and privacy calculus in digital communications. Dr. Greer also serves on the Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Subcommittee, where she served as co-chair for two years.

André Denham is an associate professor of instructional technology and president of the Black Faculty and Staff Association. Dr. Denham received his BA in Mathematics from Oakwood University, his MA in Curriculum and Instruction from La Sierra University and his PhD in Educational Technology from Arizona State University. His research interests include technology in teaching and learning, digital games for learning, learning design, emerging learning technologies and mathematics education. Previously, Dr. Denham served on UA’s Strategic Planning Sub-Committee for Diversity and Inclusion and is now a member of the Alabama Department of Education’s Textbook Adoption Committee for K-12 Computer Science.

Erik Peterson received an M.A. in Anthropology from The Ohio State University in 1999, an M.A. in History from the University of Notre Dame, and then melded the science part and the humanities part of his background into a combined Ph.D. in the History and the Philosophy of Science from Notre Dame in 2010. He taught at St. Mary’s College (Indiana), Ohio Dominican University, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison before joining the UA History department in 2013. Since arriving at UA, he was nominated for Office for Academic Affairs Outstanding Commitment to Advising in 2015 and has been a Distinguished Teaching Fellow for the College of Arts & Sciences since 2017. In 2018, he became Director of the UA at Oxford University program. Erik researches the conceptual foundations of genetics, evolutionary biology, and anthropology, and is especially interested in the persistence of race science. His first book, The Life Organic, traced the history of epigenetics since WW2. Erik’s next book details the early-20th century clash between the Darwin family and literary heavyweights G. K. Chesterton and H. G. Wells over the application of evolutionary biology to humans known as “eugenics.” nce.

Osiris Molina is Woodwind Area Coordinator and associate professor of clarinet. Dr. Molina received his BM from Rutgers University, his MM from Yale School of Music, and his DMA from Michigan State University. He serves as co-chair of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Subcommittee of the Faculty Senate.

Robert Gaines is a professor of communication studies. Dr. Gaines received his BA in Philosophy and Rhetoric and his MA in Rhetoric from UC-Davis and his PhD in Communication and Theatre Arts from the University of Iowa. In various positions at the University of Maryland, Dr. Gaines engaged in award-winning design of core courses and curriculum that included AAC&U High Impact Practices such as a first-year common read and undergraduate research.

Kristin Maki is an assistant professor of Interior Design. Professor Maki received her B.F.A. and M.F.A. degrees in Interior Design from Savannah College of Art and Design. She is a Learning in Action Fellow and has coordinated accreditation reviews for Interior Design. Her goals for student learning include fostering environments for transformational learning, critical thinking and independence.

John B. Vincent is a professor of Chemistry and co-chair of the Faculty Senate’s Academic Affairs Standing Committee. Dr. Vincent received his BS from Murray State University, and his PhD from Indiana University. His current research focuses on the elucidation of the role of chromium in diabetes and the maintenance or proper carbohydrate and lipid metabolism and on the use of metalloprotein affinity metal chromatography. Among his several teaching honors, Dr. Vincent has received the Alumni Association Outstanding Commitment to Teaching Award.

Jeff Gray is professor of Computer Science and is co-chair of Governor Kay Ivey’s Computer Science Advisory Council. Dr. Gray received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in computer science from West Virginia University and his PhD in computer science from Vanderbilt University. His research focuses on software engineering and computer science education. Dr. Gray, a national leader in computer science education, hosts the annual Alabama Robotics Competition and summer camps for K-12 students, and teacher training for K-12 educators.

Hyunjin (Gina) Noh is an associate professor of Social Work. Dr. Noh received her BA and MA degrees from Seoul National University, her MSSW and PhD degrees from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her research focuses on health disparities in end-of-life care, aging and healthcare service utilization, end-of-life care decision-making among minority patients and families, and qualitative methods. In addition to teaching and advising undergraduates in the BSW program, she has served as a field liaison and participated in curriculum development and revision.

Johnny Tice is a clinical track assistant professor in Nursing. Dr. Tice received his BSN, MSN and DNP from The University of Alabama. He also holds a MA in Health Promotion from UA and is dual certified as a Family Nurse Practitioner and Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner.

Ansley Gilpin is an associate professor of Psychology and a member of the Arts & Sciences Teaching Hub. Dr. Gilpin received her BA in Psychology and Spanish from University of the South, her MA and PhD in Psychology from the University of Texas. Her current research interests focus on children’s cognitive development, specifically in the development of their executive functions and understanding of fantasy vs. reality. Dr. Gilpin has been involved in numerous teaching and mentoring opportunities, including as an eTech mentor, Distinguished Teaching Faculty (2012-15) and the Teaching Hub.

Lane McLelland is director of Crossroads Community Center at UA. She earned her BA International Studies and Conflict Management from UA and a Master of Divinity degree and an MA in Ethics from the Pacific School of Religion in Berkley, CA. She is currently pursuing a doctoral degree in UA’s College of Education. Ms. McLelland teaches “UH405: Sustained Dialogue Leaders.”

Taskforce Liaison Group

The work of the General Education Taskforce will be supported by the following Liaison Group members:

• Ginger Bishop, Assistant Provost and Director of Institutional Effectiveness
• Luoheng Han, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
• Cory Armstrong, Chair, Core Curriculum Oversight Committee
• Ken Foshee, Registrar
• Adam Sterritt, Assistant Vice President Student Life
• Cresandra Smothers, Interim Director, Communications, Strategic Communications
• Ray White, General Education Advisory Group
• Liza Wilson, General Education Advisory Group
• Robert Hayes, College of Continuing Studies